Bookmark and Share     Follow us: FacebookTwitter    

British Virgin Islands Yacht Charter Reviews

Showing 1 - 10 of 14 reviews

Pages
    • Overall Rating
      4.75
    • Sailing Experience
      5
    • Weather
      4
    • Attractions
      5
    • Beauty
      5
    robertc1515 chartered in British Virgin Islands in December 2012Review written on December 30, 2012 Catalyst with Alan Roberts

    Alan Roberts and the Catalyst provided my family with the best vacation of all time. From the first moment we boarded the Catalyst, we felt comfortable and at ease with our captain and the luxury sailing yacht. Once on board, Alan helped us refine our first few ports of call. At each anchorage or mooring Alan made us aware of multiple activities available to us (snorkeling, beaches, hiking, beach bars and restaurants). The Catalyst is well equipped as a private charter vessel with a large dinghy with an engine large enough to water ski or wakeboard behind. Alan provided every kind of water sports equipment you could imagine (stand-up paddle board, kayak float pads, masks & snorkels, fishing equipment, etc.). My family’s favorite equipment was the bean bag floating cushions positioned on the trampoline. These were very comfortable and made sun bathing, sleeping outside or star gazing lots of fun. We selected to do a half-board charter which entailed Alan providing meals and drinks for 7 breakfasts, 5 lunches and 2 dinners on our 7 day trip. Alan served up some of the best chef quality food and Caribbean style drinks. For shore meals, he took us to excellent places, the staff knew him and took very good care of us.



    Alan is most accommodating to ensure that your vacation is complete and stress free. He is a very experienced and knowledgeable captain who exceeded all of our expectations. His personality is laid back but he's always professional and very polite. We can’t wait to back onboard the catalyst again. Thanks Alan for the great sailing trip.



    The Cox Family

    Dec 2012

    • Overall Rating
      4.75
    • Sailing Experience
      5
    • Weather
      4
    • Attractions
      5
    • Beauty
      5
    gilles her chartered in British Virgin Islands in February 2012Review written on October 15, 2012 great place to sail

    • Overall Rating
      4.25
    • Sailing Experience
      3
    • Weather
      5
    • Attractions
      4
    • Beauty
      5
    BlairTaylor chartered in British Virgin Islands in April 2012Review written on June 13, 2012 The Moorings -- COMPLETELY UNPROFESSIONAL

    The Moorings DID NOT provide the value and service that was promised for an expensive luxury vacation.



    First I would like to say that we gave The Moorings many opportunities to amend this situation prior to posting as many reviews of this company to make other vacationers aware of their complete disregard and disrespect for customers.



    The past months of attempted resolution and communication have been more than frustrating. The Moorings customer services doesn't return phone calls or emails. If you ever have a problem be prepared to wait several weeks or months.



    Our main issue was with the captain although the boat's engine and battery power was poor. He was progressively unprofessional in his conduct over the week with us a) moonlighted a ferry route b) ate/drank our supplies c) used our rental car d) asked and then seemed disappointed with his $400 tip e) wanted to cut the trip short of the allotted time.



    We requested The Moorings either reimburse us with the day we spent stranded while the captain completed a ferry job or for the entire captain fee, provisions and tip (comparable amounts). We feel those are fair and reasonable.



    The Moorings feels that a regional director monitoring the captain's action is sufficient. Unfortunately for us, if they had been doing this job all along we may not have had such a terrible trip to begin with.The also insinuated they couldn't understand any objection to his conduct, calling them "shortcomings." They also gave their apologies that our personalities "were not a match." I think these excuses are abhorrent and pathetic. During the trip we met several groups who left from the USVI on private owned yachts who had wonderful trips. Next time we will be researching that style of vacation.

    • Overall Rating
      4.25
    • Sailing Experience
      5
    • Weather
      5
    • Attractions
      3
    • Beauty
      4
    TommyMortensen chartered in British Virgin Islands in February 2012Review written on February 19, 2012 Super ....

    We can higly reckomend BVI yacht charter for bareboat cahrtering.



    We have only good experience whit the team in Tortola



    A very professional and competent crew,with customer service as their first prioroty...



    Our only bad experience was the compagny who supplied the provisioning for our trip



    The compagny we have choosen for provisioning was "Bobby's",



    We ordred the provisioning 6 weeks before our trip and recived a confirmation on email, so far so good.



    When Bobbys supplied the provisioning, was the price not as written on the ordre form supplied from Bobby's, the price was increased with 30%, so we have to pay over 1000$ for a part provisioning for 4 people / 7 days



    Bobby's have not informed about this price increase at all



    only presented us for the bill at delivery, and we have to choose if we want to use our first sailingday going shopping for provisioning or accept the increased price....



    So our advice STAY AWAY FROM Bobby's

    • Overall Rating
      4.75
    • Sailing Experience
      5
    • Weather
      4
    • Attractions
      5
    • Beauty
      5
    karenglenn1 chartered in British Virgin Islands in May 2010Review written on May 14, 2010 Beautiful, beautiful, beautiful!!

    My second charter in the BVI, despite problems with our boat this was truly the trip of a lifetime. The islands are amazing, I can't wait to go back.

    • Overall Rating
      4.75
    • Sailing Experience
      5
    • Weather
      4
    • Attractions
      5
    • Beauty
      5
    Retiredfisherman chartered in British Virgin Islands in March 2010Review written on April 9, 2010 Roadtown BVI

    This was our 5th charter in BVI. Obviously, we like the area.

    • Overall Rating
      4.25
    • Sailing Experience
      5
    • Weather
      4
    • Attractions
      4
    • Beauty
      4
    Capt. Hook chartered in British Virgin Islands in March 2008Review written on March 28, 2008 Getting very Expensive

    Prices have skyrocketed. Taxi rides are doubled from 2007. A ferry from Tortola to North Sound Virgin Gorda increased from $20 to $35. The food has always been okay and I mostly enjoy the laid-back rustic atmosphere but now the prices are equal what you would pay at an upscale big city restaurant. It's just hard to not think you are being taken advantage of when you look at that $25 jerk chicken on a paper plate sitting at the picnic table.

    • Overall Rating
      4.25
    • Sailing Experience
      5
    • Weather
      3
    • Attractions
      4
    • Beauty
      5
    Stephen chartered in British Virgin Islands in January 2008Review written on March 3, 2008 Meet me at the Willy T

    Another excellent trip to the BVI. Our group of 13 young professionals boarded our 43' cat and set sail on the calm waters surrounding the British Virgin Islands. Weather was in the low 80's during the day and high 70's at night with sporadic tropical rain showers (almost everyday and usually not lasting for longer than 30 minutes so it was never a problem - the storms also brought some nice winds for sailing). Highlights of our trip include snorkeling at The Baths, tasting rum at the Callwood Distillery at Cane Garden Bay, enjoying the beach at Cane Garden Bay, Bomba Shack's full moon party, drinks at Foxy's, and eating dinner and jumping off the William Thornton (Willy-T Ship/Restaurant at Norman Island). The BVI is a must for all types of yacht charters!

    • Overall Rating
      4.75
    • Sailing Experience
      4
    • Weather
      5
    • Attractions
      5
    • Beauty
      5
    Travis chartered in British Virgin Islands in March 2005Review written on February 28, 2008 An exquisite adventure.

    When Robert Louis Stevenson wrote “Treasure Island”, he spoke of a place in the BVI.

    Three hundred years ago, the 50-plus islands of the British Virgin Islands swarmed with pirates, who took refuge in the protected waters and kept guard from secluded mountain look-outs. Some say there is still buried treasure.

    The BVIs are peaceful and harmonious. The people are reserved, the hotels refined, the beaches uncrowded and the sports noncompetitive. Development has been slow, helping to preserve the quintessential character of the islands. No building can rise higher than the palms, a limit of two stories. Today, the fine sailing and magnificent anchorages still attract sailors from around the world and most visitors still spend much of their time in or on the sea.

    Scuba diving is popular around sunken reefs and wrecks. Snorkellers should visit the four caves at Norman Island, said to be the setting for Robert Louis Stevenson’s Treasure Island. Windsurfers (Mr. Nichols) benefit from steady winds and calm seas. Most of the population of Tortola live in and around the capital, Road Town. The other principal islands are Virgin Gorda, Anegada and Jost van Dyke. Throughout the islands, beaches are splendid and the beach bars exceptional. Gourmet cuisine can be found, along with background music of steel pans and guitars, but don’t expect early-hours entertainment – except at festival times and other special occasions when parades and parties rule the islands. No description of the BVIs is complete without a mention of The Baths on Virgin Gorda, where massive granite boulders are strewn about like confetti. The aquamarine sea pools among the boulders create intimate niches. Visit these monoliths during off times (like right before the sun rises) so that you can appreciate them in privacy.

    In summary the British Virgin Islands are an amazing adventure for friends and family alike, rich with history, water as clear as the heavens, and days that blow like the wind. BVI's an exquisite adventure.



    • Overall Rating
      4.5
    • Sailing Experience
      5
    • Weather
      4
    • Attractions
      4
    • Beauty
      5
    Mark H. chartered in British Virgin Islands in January 2008Review written on February 19, 2008 Like my second home

    I have sailed in the BVI three times, each time better than the next. Getting to know the little things that make a trip like this run smoothly can make all the difference.

    From a Navigational standpoint it is stress free with Islands always in view and depths always deeper than your birth. As you get to the harbor of your choice before 3:00 then you will have no problem securing a mooring.

    From a fun standpoint, you must bring your own party, bars are hit or miss, but knowing which bars to go to on which nights is key. The Islands are different enough to keep you interested for the duration of the trip

    Suggestions: Buy Pusser's Rum, go to Foxy's bar, keep your sail up more than your motors on - time moves slower down there.

Showing 1 - 10 of 14 reviews

Pages