Bookmark and Share     Follow us: FacebookTwitter    

Tortola Marine Management British Virgin Islands Bareboat Yacht Charter Reviews

Showing 1 - 8 of 8 reviews

Pages
  • 1
    • Overall
      2.75
    • Boat Quality
      2
    • Service
      3
    • Value
      2
    • Boat
      4
    bturner chartered with Tortola Marine Management in February 2013Review written on February 10, 2013 No Refund for Broken Generator - - Will Not Repeat With TMM

    Four of us rented the Hunter 44' Henry S in February 2013. The TMM marina was clean and efficient, and the staff was friendly and thorough at the checkout.



    For the most part, the basic sailing features and boat functionality was fine on the Hunter. However, we paid around a $1000 upcharge for this charter boat to have a functioning generator. We wanted to run appliances, recharge phones and computers, run blenders, and have A/C at anchor, without having to be tied up to a marina every night. The generator would not function for more than 20 minutes ever. We called TMM and the sent a mechanic out to work on the generator. He was on the boat for two days of our 8 day charter. He was very pleasant and timely, but he never was able to fix the generator.



    When we returned and pointed out the generator issue, TMM's only reply was "Sorry". There was no offered partial refund or any compensation offered. The four of us agree that we will not use TMM again. "Sorry" is not a good enough answer when we paid a $1000 upcharge to have a generator capability, and it never worked during the charter.



    Reading the Charter Expert reviews, there are more reliable companies to use in the BVI that will stand behind their boats and commitments.

    • Overall
      4.75
    • Boat Quality
      4
    • Service
      5
    • Value
      5
    • Boat
      5
    djack@stic.net chartered with Tortola Marine Management in April 2012Review written on January 17, 2013 Great Sailing Adventures

    Don't believe every post you read. I have been sailing with TMM every year since 2003 with very good experiences. Do mechanical things break - Yes. It is an imperfect world! The issue is how it is dealt with.



    The staff at TMM has always been professional and courteous; and you will not find cleaner boats anywhere in the Caribbean (Thanks Joyce!). The condition varies with the age of the boats. All the boats I have seen or chartered were in good to new condition. When mechanical issues have arisen, the staff has been quick to solve the problem - coming to me. But understand, you have to get the boat back to the main island (Tortola) where they can meet you.



    On your first TMM charter, allow more time for your safety briefing and check-out. The first day is usually a short sail to the Byte or Cooper Island anyway. There is a lot to cover in order to keep you safe. Even after many years of charting thru TMM, it still takes me 2 hours to go thru the checklist and get a refresher on the safety briefing. If you are a sailing Pre-Madonna, stay home and sail your own boat. The staff at TMM will work hard to make your sailing vacation as enjoyable and trouble-free as possible. See you soon (2013)!

    • Overall
      1.25
    • Boat Quality
      1
    • Service
      1
    • Value
      1
    • Boat
      2
    Maggiemae chartered with Tortola Marine Management in January 2012Review written on January 29, 2012 Poor Quality Boats / Poor Service

    All of the other reviews on this company are dead on. The boat we chartered did not run when we arrived and after two days and sending us back out on the water was never fixed. We had to be towed twice. They did upgrade us to a bigger boat, but that boat had numerous mechancial and electrical issues which is why the boat was not in service but they sent us out in it anyway. The equipment on the boats was unsafe or in disrepair. The staff was non-existent and when they were there they were not helpful at all. Boat check-out consisted of a staff member just checking off items on the list and telling us that items were on board but not willing to show us where until we specifically made him look. If you are looking to plan a well deserved vacation and don't get many opportunities to charter. Don't use TMM. The only saving grace was that after they had run out of boats to put us on the owner got involved and gave us a full refund. I was sad to spend the remainder of the week in a hotel! I have used the Moorings for 6 previous trips and will never stray from them again!!

    • Overall
      2.5
    • Boat Quality
      1
    • Service
      3
    • Value
      2
    • Boat
      4
    stevens76 chartered with Tortola Marine Management in December 2009Review written on February 17, 2010 Poor quality boats - mixed service

    I have rented 2 boats from TMM Tortola and I can not recomend this company to anyone. We have had Engine break down, Head break down, generator break down, 2 x freezer break down and 1 fridge break down. And the boats were only 2 -3 years old. Not to mention the check out prcedure that took more than 3 hours. If this does not ruin you holiday, well then youre fine.

    next time I will be back to Moorings for professional service.

    • Overall
      1
    • Boat Quality
      1
    • Service
      1
    • Value
      1
    • Boat
      1
    dlsawyer chartered with Tortola Marine Management in April 2005Review written on October 9, 2009 EXTREMELY DISAPPOINTED

    Background: My wife and I had charted from the Moorings in Tortola the year before and we had a wonderful experience. Upon advice from a member of our yacht club we decided to charter from Tortola Marine Management in 2005. TMM was a company that four couples from our club had chartered from every year. They all had shared a boat together every year for about the last fifteen years before 2005.

    We were treated very discourteously from the beginning to the end of our experience at TMM. We were treated as if we were "wrong people" who had fallen into the "wrong place". There seemed to be two sorts of customers at TMM. Loud and pushy motor boaters in Lime green sport coats and white shoes. And pushy upwardly mobile thirty somethings in designer labels going for catamarans. Well our polo shirts do not have any logos on them. We do not go in for that. And we are quite laid back. The simple fact of the matter is that my wife and myself were brought up to be very gracious and polite people. It seems the more gracious and polite we were with the rude staff at TMM the more convinced they seemed to become that there must be something 'wrong' with us. That we somehow must come from some sort of "bottom strata". It became very apparent that the staff at TMM has had very little contact with Americans from anywhere above the "middle" of the "various possibilities" of being an American.

    We took this charter with our teenage children nearly five years ago. The staff at Tortola Marine Management were very discourteous and rude to my wife and myself in front of our children. It all began when the staff kept demanding that we pay for the "balance" of our charter fee before we could depart. Apparently this is some sort of 'check' on their checklist. Our crime? The problem seemed to be that we had actually paid the entire amount of the charter in advance (It is simply easier to write one check isn't it?). Unfortunately dealing with people who have the means to pay for the entire charter in advance (and put little though to it) had them waaay out of their depth at TMM. The fact that we had paid in advance apparently registered with them that there must be "something wrong with us". And they chose to handle it very badly. They are apparently used to people putting the remainder of the charter amount and the security deposit on a charge card. They acted in a manner as if to imply that because we had paid the full amount by check that we somehow must not have credit. We must somehow be un-credit-worthy (in other words deadbeats) and trying to "get over". When we explained that, yes, we have credit cards but we prefer not to use them the person in the office at TMM actually turned his nose up at us in disbelief. (The fact of the matter is that my wife and I are in a position that we could buy the boat we were there to charter, a 42 Benny CC, tomorrow and pay cash). My wife explained that she would be happy to handle the security deposit by either cash or check. The clerk at TMM responded that a personal check would not be okay and that they would need a certified check. When we said a certified check should pose no problem we were told that we could not leave the dock until the certified check had cleared. ???? What PLANET do these people live on? My checking account had at least a seven figure balance so getting a $2500 certified check or bank wire transfer- or the equivalent amount in any currency did not pose a problem. When my wife provided a credit card the clerk at TMM inquired quite loudly as to whether tha card was a debit card or a credit card and would there be sufficient funds on the debit card? Well the simple fact of the matter was that the credit card in question had a zero balance (as do all our cards) and about a $20,000 limit and about a $20,000 line of credit available on top of that.

    On the first day immediately after the chart briefing the person who was doing our checkout jumped on the boat while my wife and daughters were still loading provisions. He would not wait five minutes for them to put the provisions away. As a result I was put in the position of having to leave an unfamiliar dockage and port with only one of three crew members on deck. My wife and youngest daughter remained below deck putting provisions away. The person doing the checkout was extremely impatient with me for being vcery easy on the boat and going slow in an unfamiliar dockage. The fact of the matter was that the boat was a Beneteau 42ft center cockpit. I am always very easy does it when taking a borrowed boat from dockage for mthe first time. And I was inclined to be especially careful when handling a 42 ft center cockpit boat with only one person on deck. Well about ten feet from the dock this cocky Brit pushed me from behind the wheel in front of my daughter and gunned the throttle and then pushed me back behind the wheel and then said "that's more like it."

    On the second day of the charter our boat had a linkage problem and would not shift out of reverse. The good news is that we were nearby at the Byte. We did have to reverse the boat across back to Tortolla where a crash boat with personnel from TMM met us. Upon meeting us the mechanic from TMM jumped on our boat and began yelling at me in front of my children for breaking their boat or being "too stupid to shift it". Well I am a seasoned sailor with 35 years experience racing sailboats and I always treat any charter boat with kid gloves. The problem with the boat was purely lack of maintenance. The simple fact of the matter was the linkage really was out of adjustment. A situation that would take an hour to an hour and a half to fix. ( I could have done it myself in 45 minutes with a phillps screwdriver and and adjustable wrench, but it was not my place to do that on a chartered boat)

    By the time we got back to the dock at TMM it was about four PM. Did the staff at TMM do one thing that day to fix the boat? No. They told us they work nine to five and they would get to work on the boat first thing in the morning. Well first thing in the morning came and went. They did not look at the boat until 1 PM. The boat was fixed by 3 PM. We spent the entire day in the heat and light trap of the harbor. Very uncomfortable. What took so long when they did deign to fix the boatwas that the mechanic who was working on the boat did not know what he was doing- he did not know how to disassemble the steering pedestal to get at the throttle linkage. He was also frankly more busy and interested in teasing me about the condition of the boat and attempting to humiliate me in front of my children. The whole time he was monkeying around with the steering pedestal he was laying this droll English humor on me. Quipping things like if he could fix the problem that I had caused they (presumably the staff) would keep my security deposit and spend it on drinks. Guano along that line. A real cockney bottom dweller.... Well, we lost on day in the docks on our charter. No offer for a pro-rata refund for the lost day. No apology for the poor condition of the boat. No apology for misconstruing the condition of the boat and the 'cause' of the problem the day before. No apology for embarrassing me and being rude to me in front of my wife and children. The rest of the trip away from TMM went without incident. Except for the fact that they had still not adjusted the linkage correctly and there was no neutral on the throttle. The neutral position was actually a slow reverse. When we returned to the dock the staff at TMM had the same rude demeanor. As it was easter weekend we inquired about a restaurant if there was a good restaurant nearby. We asked the person at the front desk to call and see if the restaurant he recommended was open. Ten minutes latyer we checkd back he reported that he had not had time to call. Twenty minutes he still had not called. At thiuryty minutes he told us he had called and the restaurant was open. Well when we walke dthe half mile to the restaurant they were closed and had a sign in the window saying they were closed for the entire weekend. The staff member at TMM had not called the restaurant. He simply found it more expeditious to lie to us and give us a false report. Disrespectful to us.

    I would not take another charter from TMM if it was given to me for free. They do not know how to deal appropriately with an American family of means that is on vacation. Others on Tortola (the Moorings, Sunsail) are extremely good at it. TMM should all close up shop and look for a new line of work. Somewhere elsewhere in the "Empire" (Blackpool? the Costa Del Sol?) there is a fleet of excursion buses or ice cream trucks that needs drivers and mechanics. Perhaps the poms at TMM could function at this level for vacation goers?

    ADDITIONAL BACKGROUND: The group from our yacht club likewise had an awful charter from TMM that year. They were treated discourteously and ended the fifteen year relationship with the company. They now go with SunSail.

    Apparently the poor service at TMM is an outcome of the owner of the company deciding he did not need to be in Tortola anymore. He thinks he can run the company from Wisconsin. What is going on at TMM is a simple case of poor supervision by an absentee owner. The result seems to be a staff stuck somewhere between lethargy and crisis mode. Not a good thing.

    • Overall
      5
    • Boat Quality
      5
    • Service
      5
    • Value
      5
    • Boat
      5
    jcrouse chartered with Tortola Marine Management in February 2007Review written on August 23, 2009 Return charterer

    Great company - very attentive service

    • Overall
      2.5
    • Boat Quality
      1
    • Service
      3
    • Value
      2
    • Boat
      4
    Capt. Hook chartered with Tortola Marine Management in March 2008Review written on March 28, 2008 Replacement Boat

    The boat we reserved broke down and could not be used. I can understand this but the replacement boat provided was not even close to being acceptable. It was 7 feet smaller and a cat instead of the monohull we reserved. We also had to change cats half way thru the week which was a wasted day for us. There was no discount or refund for the smaller, different class of boat or our wasted day in changing boats. We all tried to remain upbeat so as not to spoil the vacation but none of us wanted to be on a cat. This was the 4th and last year I'll sail with TMM.

    • Overall
      4.5
    • Boat Quality
      5
    • Service
      3
    • Value
      5
    • Boat
      5
    higgs chartered with Tortola Marine Management in January 2008Review written on January 25, 2008 Pretty good

    The pre cruise briefing took way too long as did check in. I had to wait 4 hours for someone to check us in. I would have not minded being told we can do it at a certain time, but I had to hang around the whole 4 hours waiting for someone to get to me.

Showing 1 - 8 of 8 reviews

Pages
  • 1