Bookmark and Share     Follow us: FacebookTwitter    

BVI Yacht Charters British Virgin Islands Bareboat Yacht Charter Reviews

Showing 1 - 7 of 7 reviews

Pages
  • 1
    • Overall
      4.5
    • Boat Quality
      4
    • Service
      5
    • Value
      4
    • Boat
      5
    TommyMortensen chartered with BVI Yacht Charters in February 2012Review written on February 19, 2012 Super pro ...

    We can higly reckomend BVI yacht charter for bareboat cahrtering.



    We have only good experience whit the team in Tortola



    A very professional and competent crew,with customer service as their first prioroty...



    Our only bad experience was the compagny who supplied the provisioning for our trip



    The compagny we have choosen for provisioning was "Bobby's",



    We ordred the provisioning 6 weeks before our trip and recived a confirmation on email, so far so good.



    When Bobbys supplied the provisioning, was the price not as written on the ordre form supplied from Bobby's, the price was increased with 30%, so we have to pay over 1000$ for a part provisioning for 4 people / 7 days



    Bobby's have not informed about this price increase at all



    only presented us for the bill at delivery, and we have to choose if we want to use our first sailingday going shopping for provisioning or accept the increased price....



    So our advice STAY AWAY FROM Bobby's

    • Overall
      4.75
    • Boat Quality
      4
    • Service
      5
    • Value
      5
    • Boat
      5
    matahari chartered with BVI Yacht Charters in January 2012Review written on January 29, 2012 Charters with them for the last 5 yars!

    This group becomes family! You know that you can count on Anthony, Abbie, Elvis, to many to name them all. They work hard and they are there for you. The boats are well maintained... any time there was a problem they resolved it with no questions asked. This year we had 4 boats, 33 people all leaving the same day and it went off without a hitch. Best bargain, best staff, easy to get to and there for you all through the year with answers to any questions that may come up! I HIGHLY Recommend them/

    • Overall
      5
    • Boat Quality
      5
    • Service
      5
    • Value
      5
    • Boat
      5
    Janee chartered with BVI Yacht Charters in April 2011Review written on May 4, 2011 Highly Recommended

    • Overall
      5
    • Boat Quality
      5
    • Service
      5
    • Value
      5
    • Boat
      5
    Janee chartered with BVI Yacht Charters in April 2011Review written on May 4, 2011 Highly Recommended

    We are 2 families, one family with 2 teenagers and one with 2 young children (5 and 8). We chartered Stray Cat a Leopard 4700 with AC from BVI Yacht Charters this April. The whole trip was perfect. From our first contact with BVI YC to initially enquire, to our arrival at the base, and when we left to head home. Stray Cat was in great condition with the added bonus of a new Generator and New Hard Top Bimini. Apart from a few very minor issues, which were resolved hastily and gracefully, the boat was in great condition. The Staff at BVI YC were friendly and welcoming and went above and beyond our expectations. 10 out of 10 to these guys. We will definately be back, and we will recommend to all our friends. Thumbs up 100%.

    • Overall
      2.25
    • Boat Quality
      2
    • Service
      2
    • Value
      3
    • Boat
      2
    mikeyg chartered with BVI Yacht Charters in November 2010Review written on November 19, 2010 good value, poor maintenance

    Boat was in O.K. shape, although showing premature age for a 2007 beneteau 46. All the fittings had surface rust, and the interior fittings were well corroded.



    We had a shower sump fail, as well a a fresh water pump. Both were repaired in good time once we got within dingy range of Tortola.



    The forward head needs to be rebuilt. When I pointed this out, as is typical for the region, they dumped some oil in the head to 'smooth it out'.



    Most disturbing was the fact that the starboard aft cabin reeked of diesel fuel. I know, the tank is under the mattress, but the fumes were horrible - and I am no stranger to diesel; both my boat and my car run on it. This smelled as though the tank had overflowed, and was vented directly into the cabin. There was an oily residue on the walls of the same cabin. We ended up duck-taping off the air vents and closing the door, not using the cabin for the duration of the trip. Luckily, there were only two couples.



    The holding tanks had been bypassed - direct discharge only. This spoiled our plans of a trip into the USVI. Not only that, but 'holding it' while on a mooring became bothersome; afterall, people do swim in the anchorages and in the national parks.



    All equipment needed was not on board. check, double check, and triple check that you have everything on the checklist, as the company does not.



    Last, but not least, a bottom job was definitely in order for our boat.

    • Overall
      2.25
    • Boat Quality
      2
    • Service
      3
    • Value
      2
    • Boat
      2
    JudyinVA chartered with BVI Yacht Charters in July 2010Review written on July 14, 2010 Lousy location and marina office servce

    I was looking for an alternative to Moorings/Sunsail in the BVI bareboat charter industry, and was lured into BVI Yacht Charters by their great website and responsive agents -- up to the point where we actually got there. That's where the good vibes ended -- their new marina is right next to a commercial wharf, and the breakwater has not been completed so the marina gets the full set of waves coming in -- makes for a very rocky-rolly overnight stay. The BVI office complex has one -- ONE -- head and shower to accomodate charterers, but my biggest complaint is with the office staff; we had a boat drag down on us during a storm up at Anegada and I filed a report first thing the next morning over the phone, but when we got back I was asked three separate times why I hadn't filed a damage report -- and the person who took the report over the phone was sitting right there! Very frustrating. The only redeeming facet to this mess of a charter comapny is the marina operator and baot mechanic, Anthony, who is very conscientious but understaffed and overwhelmed with trying to maintain so many older boats. If you want to know where the tired rentals from Moorings go, this is the place! I would not recommend this company to anyone, nor would I use them again.

    • Overall
      4.5
    • Boat Quality
      4
    • Service
      4
    • Value
      5
    • Boat
      5
    ttam chartered with BVI Yacht Charters in November 2007Review written on September 5, 2009 Sail Adventure 2007

    We had two couple in a 34' Jeaneau. The boat was in good shape, with a slight lean to the starboard, before we got anything stowed.



    Besides that, it was great! The office crew were helpful and attentive. We got a great walk through of the boat and had a week of drifting around. No real problems. The location of their docks is great for self provisioning. We bought all our groceries at the local place. Although, beware crossing the street: They honk after they run you down.



Showing 1 - 7 of 7 reviews

Pages
  • 1